Contact Us Musician Portal Donate Today

Daphnis and Chloé


Saturday, Jan 11, 2020 – 7:30 PM

Delta David Gier, conductor
Zhou Long, composer
Dakota String Quartet
Sioux Falls Lion Dance Team


Zhou Long                     Poems from Tang

Dakota String Quartet
Doosook Kim, violin
Magdalena Modzelewska, violin
Yi-Chun Lin, viola
Robert Erhard, cello

Ravel                              Daphnis et Chloé

This concert celebrates Chinese New Year with a special appearance by the Sioux Falls Lion Dance Team. Then, a dive into the sparkling sound-scape world of Pulitzer Prize winning composer Zhou Long’s concerto for string quartet, Poems from Tang, featuring the SDSO’s own Dakota String Quartet. The music from Ravel’s most famous ballet, Daphnis et Chloé, takes us on a journey of love, loss and reunification

*Programs and dates are subject to change.