Contact Us Musician Portal Donate Today

Tchaikovsky SYMPHONY No. 4


Saturday, April 7, 2018 – 7:30 PM

Washington Pavilion


Tchaikovsky’s exciting, perennial favorite is paired with works by prominent American composers. Pulitzer Prize winner Paul Moravec’s The Overlook Hotel Suite contains music from his critically-acclaimed opera The Shining, premiered by the Minnesota Opera in 2016. Virtuoso bassoonist Martin Kuuskmann plays a concerto written especially for him by Christopher Theofanidis, which received a 2017 Grammy nomination for Best Classical Composition.

Moravec                              The Overlook Hotel Suite

Theofanidis                        Bassoon Concerto
Martin Kuuskmann, bassoon

Daugherty                           Dead Elvis
Martin Kuuskmann, bassoon

Tchaikovsky                        Symphony No. 4 in F minor, Op. 36