Contact Us Musician Portal Donate Today

Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 6

Saturday, November 23, 2013 – 7:30 PM

Sponsored by Lawrence & Schiller

Mary W. Sommervold Hall, Washington Pavilion

Event Overview:

Tchaikovsky’s final symphony takes listeners on a jour- ney of intense emotions. Known as one of his most passionate compositions, Tchaikovsky commented that he put his “whole soul into this work.”

Concertmaster David Kim of The Philadelphia Orchestra joins the South Dakota Symphony Orchestra on a dazzling tour of technical mastery and dark, soulful melodies in Sibelius’ only concerto, one of the greatest written for any instrument.

“Kim has a robust sound that sings. He knows how to be expansive without distortion of sound. Above all, Kim has an admirable expressive sense.”

–The Philadelphia Inquirer


Auerbach – Sogno di Stabat Mater
Sibelius  – Violin Concerto in D minor, Op. 47 David Kim, violin
Tchaikovsky – Symphony No. 6 in B minor, Op. 74, “Pathétique”